skip navigation

West Nile Virus positive mosquitos in York

By Jeff, 09/26/18, 10:00PM EDT

Share

Good Morning,

I am forwarding this message (and attachments) from Amber Harrison, Local Health Officer for the Town. PLEASE SHARE WITH YOUR COACHES AND FAMILIES.

We do have an IPM( Integrated Pest Management Program)  that we follow closely. We are not planning a spraying at this time. Nor are we making any recommendation for modified field use schedules. Historically, we do not do either unless there is a report of a positive test at the field location or close proximity. At this time, we are working to eliminate any incidences of standing water ( in a bucket, etc. ) and Amber is monitoring carefully, she will keep us updated if there are any additional developments.

Any questions or concerns can be directed to Amber, her contact information is listed below.

 

 

Robin

Robin Cogger | Director

Office: Grant House | 200 US Rte. 1 | York, Maine | 03909

Mail: 186 York Street | York, Maine | 03909

Office phone: 207-363-1040 

Website: http://www.yorkparksandrec.org/

 

Stay up to date on all things York Parks and Recreation…

Like us on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/search/top/?q=town%20of%20york%20maine%20parks%20and%20recreation%20department

And follow us on Instagram at yorkparksandrec

ypr_logo_final

 

 

 

 

From: Amber Harrison
Sent: Friday, September 21, 2018 4:07 PM
To: Kathryn Lagasse <klagasse@yorkmaine.org>; Mary-Anne Szeniawski <mszeniawski@yorkmaine.org>; Richard C. Mace <rmace@yorkmaine.org>; Wendy Anderson <wanderson@yorkmaine.org>; Dean Lessard <dlessard@yorkmaine.org>; Timothy DePerrio <tdeperrio@yorkmaine.org>; Michelle Sampson <msampson@york.lib.me.us>; Robin Cogger <rcogger@yorkmaine.org>; Robin Kerr <rkerr@yorkmaine.org>; Tim Haskell <thaskell@yorksewerdistrict.org>; Don Neumann <dneumann@yorkwaterdistrict.org>; David K. Bridges <dbridges@yorkmaine.org>; Christopher Balentine <cbalentine@yorkmaine.org>; Douglas P. Bracy <dbracy@yorkpolice.org>; Owen T. Davis <odavis@yorkpolice.org>; Zak Harding <zharding@yorkschools.org>; lgoscinski@yorkschools.org; Janie Sweeney <jsweeney@ycsame.org>; Michelle Surdoval <msurdoval@ycsame.org>
Cc: Stephen H. Burns <sburns@yorkmaine.org>
Subject: FW: West Nile Virus positive mosquitos in York
Importance: High

 

Good Afternoon,

I want to make you all aware that the CDC has identified West Nile Virus positive mosquitos in the Town of York.  At this time we do not have a positive human test result but it is arboviral season (September thru November), and it is time to be more vigilant with outdoor activities during dusk and dawn.  I’ve attached several Town Guidance documents from the CDC as well as our York County contact (see Kate Colby’s contact information below), as well as the hotline:  (800) 821-5821. 

 

Here is the CDC website with more information for the public, including an FAQ sheet:  https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/infectious-disease/epi/vector-borne/index.shtml The US CDC site may also be helpful: https://www.cdc.gov/westnile/

 

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks,

Amber

 

Amber Harrison

Director of Code Enforcement

Local Health Officer

186 York Street

York, ME 03909

207.363.1002 x 6044

 

From: Colby, Kate <Kate.Colby@maine.gov>
Sent: Friday, September 21, 2018 2:51 PM
To: Stephen H. Burns <sburns@yorkmaine.org>; Amber Harrison <aharrison@yorkmaine.org>
Cc: Hartwig, Adam <Adam.Hartwig@maine.gov>
Subject: West Nile Virus positive mosquitos in York
Importance: High

 

Stephen and Amber,

 

ME CDC recently received confirmation of a mosquito pool in York that tested positive for West Nile Virus. As part of our protocol, we notify town officials, including the LHO and town manager when an animal or mosquitoes a municipality are positive for arboviruses, such as West Nile Virus and Eastern Equine Encephalitis. I have also copied the ME CDC district liaison, Adam Hartwig.

 

I have attached some information that you may find helpful, including the ME CDC Arboviral Response Plan for 2018 that includes more specific guidance, including information on pesticide resources for municipalities. Our website may also be helpful in your response and planning: https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/infectious-disease/epi/vector-borne/index.shtml.

 

Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions or concerns.

 

Thank You,

 

 

Kate Colby, MPH

Field Epidemiologist, York District

 

Department of Health and Human Services

Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention   -     Preserve ~Promote ~ Protect

Division of Disease Surveillance

Infectious Disease Epidemiology

 

151 Jetport Blvd.

Portland, ME 04102-1946

 

Tel:         (207) 822-2360

Fax:        (207) 822-1022

TTY:        Call 711 (Maine Relay)

24-hour Reporting: 1-800-821-5821

 

PHAB-SEAL-COLOR

We do have an IPM( Integrated Pest Management Program)  that we follow closely. We are not planning a spraying at this time. Nor are we making any recommendation for modified field use schedules. Historically, we do not do either unless there is a report of a positive test at the field location or close proximity. At this time, we are working to eliminate any incidences of standing water ( in a bucket, etc. ) and Amber is monitoring carefully, she will keep us updated if there are any additional developments.